Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 02:48:55 AM

Author Topic: Repeated Pausing during cut  (Read 1050 times)

Repeated Pausing during cut
« on: September 04, 2022, 09:24:36 PM »
Hey, I've been using Mach3 for a few years now and have been having this problem the whole time, but only with large cuts.

The PC and CNC machine will constantly pause / go / pause / go. It's almost as if the PC has to wait for the CNC to complete each action before if feeds it the next line of code. This only happens on designs with large amounts of code. All smaller designs have run just fine, without any of these pausing issues.

I have tried using a newer PC, with more ram and much more powerful CPU, which reduces the pausing, but does not eliminate it.

Any advice or assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Repeated Pausing during cut
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2022, 09:31:26 PM »
Hi,
is it a parallel port machine?

Try disabling the screen drawing facility when running large files. The screen redraws can cause the pausing you are talking about.

External motion controllers like an Ethernet SmoothStepper reduce the dependence on the PC by relieving the PC of the need to generate
accurately timed pulse streams for which Windows PCs are poor.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2022, 09:39:37 PM »
The CNC controller is USB connection.

I will try the screen redraw when I get home tonight. Never new this was a thing before, but now that you mention it, it seems very possible this is the problem. It's like trying to play a game at settings the PC can't handle and frame rates go so low it's like a slideshow.

Thank you for the suggestion 😊
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2022, 11:17:24 PM »
Hi,

The CNC controller is USB connection.

So what make and model?

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2022, 11:32:17 PM »
So what make and model?

That I'm not sure of.