Hello Guest it is April 17, 2024, 09:53:42 PM

Author Topic: Mach 3 and Controlling a CNC via USB  (Read 1019 times)

Mach 3 and Controlling a CNC via USB
« on: August 15, 2022, 05:38:09 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I work as CNC Machinist and I am looking at purchasing a small CNC mill for at home use. The machine I am considering buying is this one...
https://www.aliexpress.com/i/32706031866.html

Now I have no experience with Mach 3 so I have a few questions...

The guys over at Linux CNC mention that there may be latency issues with running a cnc via usb. Presumably that wont be as much of a problem with this machine because the motion control hardware is on the machine?

Will I need a plugin to run the motion control?

I am a bit confused as to the system requirements regarding 32 bit vs 64 bit computers. Does it matter either way for this application. If I understand it correctly both will work.

As someone who has never needed to hook up a cnc before... what can I expect connecting to Chinese motion controllers, what sort of work is involved. Once I buy the machine will I be able to look in the back and figure out the best post processor to work with the components?

Sorry for asking stupid beginner questions BTW
Thanks,
Matt.
Re: Mach 3 and Controlling a CNC via USB
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2022, 11:20:35 AM »
Well in principle that looks quite a nice little machine.  USB motion controllers can work well with M3, I use one on a small mill and another on my lathe, no issues with latency.  Mine are made by CNCDrive, type UC100, EU made and well supported.  Chinese USB equivalents (some of them direct rip-offs) have a dodgy reputation on here.