Hello Guest it is April 23, 2024, 01:29:54 PM

Author Topic: cnc controller blowing fuses...please help.  (Read 803 times)

cnc controller blowing fuses...please help.
« on: July 05, 2022, 12:09:49 PM »
I have a CNC Router Parts Nema 23 control w/ESS.  this system uses a toroidal transformer, 2 x 115vac primary with 28v Ac 8amp and 8v Ac 2amp secondary's. when i power up the machine the 2amp fuse after the transformer and bridge rectifier keeps blowing, this is the side that powers the proximity sensors. i cant find any loose or broken or grounded wires. this happened 2 years ago when i moved the machine and i simply replaced the 2amp fuse and been running fine. well, i just moved again and this time the fuse blew again and the problem is here to stay. i am desperate for help as this is how i make my living and the support team at avid cnc only want to sell me a new control system, very frustated. thank you in advance, Dan
Modify message
was not sure where to post this. thank you
Re: cnc controller blowing fuses...please help.
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2022, 07:18:33 PM »
Hi,
disconnect all the prox sensors from the power supply, and hook them up one at a time until you find the dud one.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
Re: cnc controller blowing fuses...please help.
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2022, 07:01:47 AM »
joe, i actually already did that. the fuse blows upon initial power up with all sensors unplugged. i also removed all 5 of the sensor receptacles and cleaned and checked for loose/broken wires. it has to be something that was affected by the physical move, again. thank you for your reply
Re: cnc controller blowing fuses...please help. UPDATE!
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2022, 12:49:02 PM »