Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 03:23:01 PM

Author Topic: Shared Home/Limit Switch "RefAllHome" Procedure  (Read 790 times)

Shared Home/Limit Switch "RefAllHome" Procedure
« on: June 13, 2022, 01:00:19 PM »
Hello everyone. I just acquired a used CNC router machine & PC (Mach 3 ver 2.0, Windows 7) and am trying to get it up and running in a way that I know how to use it. I am a CNC instructor at our local makerspace on a ShopBot PRS Alpha machine, so I am conversant in CNC principles in general but I am relatively new to Mach3 so that's why I came here for help.

My new machine is a ~35x38" Chinese 3-Axis kit with a 2.2 KW Spindle and NEMA 23 motors that the previous owner bought on Ebay and assembled and used. It is in running condition and works fine, I'm just trying to work through a few config/setup issues so I can safely use it for my needs.   

The issue I am working through currently and asking for help with in this post is how to get this new machine to Reference Home and establish Machine Coord X/Y to 0. All three of the Axes have physical normally open mechanically activated limit switches at each end. The machine does not have separate Home and Limit switches, so they are shared.

At our makerspace, we have a CNC plasma table that runs on Mach 3, and when you hit "REF ALL HOME" the machine will jog to a specific corner of the table, hit each Limit switch, then back off in reverse a few mm and hit it again more slowly, set the machine coordinate to 0.0 for that axis, then move onto the next axis and do the same thing. Then the borders of the "Zero X" and "Zero Y" buttons in Mach 3 Program Run screen turn green. You'd then move the torch to your desired work coordinates and zero from there.

I don't think the previous owner of my new machine set Mach 3 up setup to do this, because when I hit REF ALL HOME, the machine just travels to a corner of the table and hits the Limit switch and just stops there paralyzed in the "LIMIT TRIGGERED" condition.