Hello Guest it is April 28, 2024, 07:36:27 PM

Author Topic: Can someone tell me why Z wont go to work zero and why Axis 3 ERROR??  (Read 1549 times)

Can anyone tell me why Z will not go to work zero when required? Also why does the error AXIS 3 commanded while disabled keep coming up and when you enable it I get a Axis mapping error? This is a slave axis and shouldn't be enabled?? I am NOT a computer programmer. 

What does this mean

-- Go To Work Zero() function.
---------------------------------------------------------------
function GoToWorkZero()
    mc.mcCntlMdiExecute(inst, "G00 X0 Y0 A0")--Without Z moves
    --mc.mcCntlMdiExecute(inst, "G00 G53 Z0\nG00 X0 Y0 A0\nG00 Z0")--With Z moves
Todd

Offline thosj

•  532 532
    • View Profile
Re: Can someone tell me why Z wont go to work zero and why Axis 3 ERROR??
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2022, 08:33:43 AM »
I don't know about the first part, but the last part explains why your Z is not going there!!

That is LUA, and you have to comment out the first line, add --, and remove the comment -- from the second line. Kind just like it says there!!

Axis 3 is likely not enabled unless you have some sort of third axis. If Axis 3 is a slave, it should move with it's main axis. If Axis 3 is A, likely, try removing the commanded A0 in the Go To Work Zero line you just commented/uncommented!!! It should look like this:

mc.mcCntlMdiExecute(inst, G00 G53 Z0\nG00 X0 Y0\nG00 Z0")--With Z moves   NO A0.

That line, BTW, moves Z to HOME, UP to the top typically, moves X and Y, then Moves Z back to it's Work Zero spot, so you don't hit something!!

Tom

« Last Edit: January 01, 2022, 08:35:43 AM by thosj »
--
Tom
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2022, 12:40:39 PM »
Thank you very much for that assistance, Tom. My next question would be how to edit that script? I have tried to change that, but it doesn't allow it and I cannot seem to find this in the script editor.