Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 02:26:46 AM

Author Topic: Fanuc 6 Axis Robot Arm Help with Concept  (Read 1833 times)

Fanuc 6 Axis Robot Arm Help with Concept
« on: January 10, 2021, 03:51:59 AM »
Hi all. I just won at auction a full sized Fanuc S-420iw Robot Arm. I've been watching Lignum Videos on Youtube for years. For those how haven't seen it they have a robot arm CNC'd with a Router head. Pretty awesome. Big work envelope; well not so much big as versatile.

So I'd like to do the same. I guess the questions are when controlling a robot do I run all the programming, g-code, through the controller that it comes with? Or do I run mach 4 through it's controller or do I bypass it all together and wire it as I would any CNC machine I've built from scratch?

I guess that would be a good place to start for some help. I've never used a robot before so I have the most basic understanding of how they work.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Fanuc 6 Axis Robot Arm Help with Concept
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2021, 05:01:14 AM »
Mach provides Step and Direction signals and assuming that is compatible with your arm driver electronics then you could connect it in much the same way as you would connect any other CNC machine.
The important thing to remember is that Mach does not calculate any kinematic movements so you would only be able to use the arm from ‘teach’ created Gcode. Creating a suitable hand controller to move the arm prior to recording each and every ‘teach’ position could also be a demanding task.
It is, of course, always possible that some clever soul could translate kinematic movements into Gcode that would run with Mach but so far there has not been any success (despite a number of claims).

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2021, 11:53:52 AM »
Ok thanks. I wonder what the people that have used them for CNC routers are using for software, CAM and controller?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2021, 10:55:47 PM »