Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 06:59:15 PM

Author Topic: PLEASE! Newbie needing help!  (Read 2568 times)

PLEASE! Newbie needing help!
« on: September 16, 2020, 08:23:15 AM »
Hey everyone! First off let me say thanks for reading this. And I look forward to anything you can help me with.

I am brand new to cnc routing. I have never done anything in Cad, Cam etc. I own a woodworking business and have always wanted a machine. So I bit the bullet and bought a ChinaCNCZone 6090 machine with 4 axis from a local estate auction. It came with a Dell PC which has Mach3 on it and the machine came with a bunch of bits. I have done some research into Mach3 and I think I know how to start using it. I want to make signs, various shapes for cutting boards and the like. Only thing is how the heck do I design things and get them into Mach3?

I currently don't have more funds for to purchase software. From what I believe the previous owner must have had the design software on the office PC which was also sold at the auction. I was looking at V-Carve Pro but dang expensive. Though it looks like an all in 1 program for what I want to do. But that also looks like it needs a PC not a Mac. I was hoping to do the designing separately on my Mac. As I won't have internet in the shop where the PC will be.

Others I have seen are Fusion360. I downloaded that program to try. But it doesn't look like I can do what I want in it. Every video I see about making signs in it. They start off by saying they made it in something else and imported it into fusion.

Someone mentioned Easel. But they said it does 2.5 D not 3d? Which I think means it doesn't run smoothly all at once in multiple directions? And it doesn't sound like it will do 4 axis either.

Someone else said Sketchup. Haven't looked into that yet.