Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 11:15:11 AM

Author Topic: ShuttlePro Wheel time lag  (Read 862 times)

ShuttlePro Wheel time lag
« on: June 14, 2020, 05:52:12 PM »
Hello everyone.

I've been using ShuttlePro with Mach3 for many years and I never had a problem. Lately I decided to give a try to Mach4 again, since I have the license for many years and I was never able to set it up properly at the initial releases. So this time I have managed to setup Mach4 with ESS and everything is working fine, except the fact that the ShuttlePro wheel which I use a lot to jog all axis to place, has a significant time lag.
I do not really mind the starting delay, but the stoping delay after releasing the wheel, is very dangerous. Having gotten used with Mach3 and my other 2 LinuxCNC machines to have an instant stop after the release, I am kind of frustrated and it is the only reason that I am still using Mach3 instead.
I looked around in this forum and Googled a lot to see if it is a known issue, but I do not see anything.
So I though to ask, because maybe I am missing something or doing something wrong.
Has anyone else noticed this issue I have?

My set up is with a laptop (a fast enough one with windows 10) + ESS

If I don't find a solution I am thinking to retire Mach in general and get the hardware required to change this machine as well to LinuxCNC.
This is my oldest one and it was setup initially using Mach and I am stack with that hardware (ESS, Smothstepper compatible BOB from CNC4PC, etc.)
Re: ShuttlePro Wheel time lag
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2020, 06:58:05 PM »
Hi,
if you have the shuttle wheel setup with a high increment value then it is possible for you to issue more incremental moves
than the machine cankeep up with and therefore it stores them up in a buffer. When you stop spinning the wheel the steps stored in the buffer complete
leading to a seeming 'after-run'. It is doing exactly as it should.