Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:56:58 AM

Author Topic: Mach3 new user, help with laser.  (Read 1247 times)

Mach3 new user, help with laser.
« on: January 13, 2020, 07:11:55 PM »
Hello there!

I'm new to this whole practice of the dark arts. I've gotten stuck in a deep hole of not finding the info I'm searching for. This will probably be a newbie question.

I've recently bought a Sainsmart MX3 with a blue 5.5w laser and spindle. I've spent a couple of weeks trying to learn Fusion 360 enough to create what I want and I would like to say that I have learnt what I need to at this time. The problem I have right now is that I want to etch but I can only get the laser to start and stop on the M3 and M5 commands and I've read and seen that it's to slow for the laser. The gcode comes out of Fusion with M10 and M11 commands but nothing happens. Can someone help a new user that's on the level of recently figuring out what commands are?

I will add pictures of the hardware I've got in case it's important.

/Mathias
I've no idea what I'm doing and I pressume it's going great.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 new user, help with laser.
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2020, 04:54:15 AM »
Unfortunately your USB motion controller does not support the M10 / M11 commands so they will not work.

You could replace your controller with one that supports these commands - you would also need to fit new stepper drivers etc.

A reasonable solution may be to modify your Post Processor to replace the M10/M11 commands with say B0/B1 then configure the B axis within Mach3 and then use the B axis Direction pin for laser switching. (an axis movement command will, like M10/M11, operate without breaking the constant velocity chain - so no delay like M3/M4).

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2020, 05:09:19 AM »
Thank you for the answer!