Hello Guest it is April 24, 2024, 08:05:15 PM

Author Topic: Lazycam 2.05 - DXF import and scaling issue  (Read 5123 times)

Lazycam 2.05 - DXF import and scaling issue
« on: September 15, 2007, 04:09:38 PM »
I'm new to CNC in general so I'll take any advice you can offer.  Thanks in advance.

I purchased Mach 3 and Lazycam and have started working with them for about 2 weeks now.  Mach 3 seems to be doing fine and I'm learing it ok.

I'm having a problem with Lazycam though.  I create a drawing in Adobe Illustrator, export as a DXF and it comes in at the wrong scale in Lazycam.

The project in Adobe Illustrator is roughly 8" wide.  When it comes into Lazycam and I have it filling the screen, the scale in the upper right hand corner shows 35.32.

How do I get this to scale properly without having to try to rescale after importing?
« Last Edit: September 15, 2007, 04:14:50 PM by buckey29 »
Re: Lazycam 2.05 - DXF import and scaling issue
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2007, 09:07:16 AM »
Greetings! I use an old copy of AutoCAD light called QuickCAD most of the time, but I still may be able to help with your problem... Be sure that you are saving the file in the format of AutoCAD Release 12. The same thing that happened to you also happened to me and that was the reason. I couldn't figure out why I couldn't pocket the letters in a 6" wide sign I was making. After importing the drawing, I found that the sign was only .32" wide. LazyCAM knows that an 1/8" cutter will not pocket the letters in a sign that size... I think that is were your problem could be... in the type of .dxf file your software is creating. May be someone who uses illustrator will respond with the proper settings in that software.