Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 12:37:38 AM

Author Topic: Mach 2 Help from a complete Newbie!!  (Read 7464 times)

Mach 2 Help from a complete Newbie!!
« on: March 29, 2006, 06:20:27 PM »
Hi I´m trying the freeware version of the Mach2 Software which is really impressive for my recently bought CNC machine, I have designed on Autocad 2000 a simple figure which I wish to cut but when I import it and generate a Gcode it only draws me a rectangle and that on the screen that shows you what you have drawn am I doing something wrong?? The part is made on 3D X,Y and Z axis it is a real simple shape am I doing something wrong??

Thanks For the help.

Roberto
Re: Mach 2 Help from a complete Newbie!!
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2006, 06:39:09 PM »
The DXF importer that is built into MACH 2/3 will not do 3d, only 2d shapes.  Brian and Art are currently developing LazyCAM (can be found in the Downloads section on the MACH support site).  I am not sure about the exact capabilities of it right now, but it should make dealing with DXF's allot easier.  One other tip is save the DXF in AutoCAD in Release 12 format.  Not sure if I helped "solve" your problem, but hope I helped clear up some confusion for you.

So, clear as mud now?   8)

p.s. Mach is pretty impresive isn't it!  I don't think you will find a better, cheaper, more flexible solution.  And the support it is surpased by none, IMHO.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2006, 06:44:40 PM by rbleth51 »
Thanks,
Rob
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2006, 06:42:40 PM »
 ;D Yupe Clear as Mud LOL!! Thanks for the help!! Ok so it doesn´t support 3d Files how will I make it to cut in different depths?? Manually?? How will I check that on the software??

Thanks for the help.

Roberto
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2006, 06:53:57 PM »
Just to be safe I want to clarify that MACH is fully capable of true 3d work, however the DXF importer will not handle 3d DXFs.