Hello Guest it is March 18, 2024, 10:32:49 PM

Author Topic: AC DRIVE ISSUES.  (Read 2028 times)

AC DRIVE ISSUES.
« on: December 10, 2018, 02:32:32 PM »
Hi All

I am in the process of completing a cnc retrofit using Schneider Lexium 28 drives and BCH2 motors. I am now on my third drive that has totally given up for no known reason. I have as far as I am aware wired the drives correctly but I am no expert by any means when it comes to electronics. Would anyone be kind enough to take a look at the schematic and advise where the issue may be in my wiring. I don't believe this is a drive issue as its happened three times.
I can post the manuals or just screenshots if required.

Thanks
Mick 
Re: AC DRIVE ISSUES.
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2018, 01:07:25 AM »
Hi Mick,
I have a couple of questions:

Why do you have a transformer at the input....is your incoming power supply 250V? These drives are made in Europe for European conditions
so I am bemused that you need anything like a voltage reducing input transformer....or have you Brexited already?

The next is the EMC filters between the contactor and the drives. Do you have specific advice from Schnieder that they are required or acceptable?
As I have said before, not once but a dozen times, you need line reactors NOT EMC filters, unless the EMC filter is specifically recommended by
Schneider. EMC filters tend to have capacitive input impedance and generally a poor choice for a device deriving DC voltage by direct rectification
of the incoming AC, ie a servo drive.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2018, 01:50:01 AM »
Hi Craig
The manual states 230v +- 10%. This right on the limit of our supply voltage. Probably not needed but for £70 thought it worth doing.
The manual also says DO NOT USE THESE DRIVES WITHOUT EMC FILTER. I have fitted the EMC filter recommended for the drive.