Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 10:42:13 AM

Author Topic: works in 2.0, goes nuts in 2.02  (Read 2949 times)

Offline cephjedi

•  8 8
  • I keep octopuses. I play guitar. I love inventing!
    • View Profile
works in 2.0, goes nuts in 2.02
« on: August 06, 2007, 10:37:34 AM »
Hi Gang!

I'm a total newbie, so apologies if I ask something blatantly ignorant.  :)

I registered lazycam last week and have been trying to make Gcode files for the parts in Joe's 2006 homebrew CNC machine  (see the CNCzone forums for plans and info)

He listed the parts in DWG format, and I've used a couple different programs to convert these to DXF format for LazyCam.   I've tried many different methods because the newest version of lazycam makes a big mess out of the import- as if it's finding tons of miscellaneous entities in the DXF files that aren't visible in the drawing programs.   After fighting with LC 2.02, I decided to try the 2.0 version- and it worked much more smoothly!   

here's an example part:  The left inside gantry part of Joe Che'2006 DIY router. 

Does anyone have insight as to what LC 2.02 is trying to do that 2.0 isn't?

You guys at Artsoft have really done a great job bringing CNC technology to us hobbyists- Thanks a million for all your efforts.

Cheers, Jim
The Force is like Duct Tape:  It has a Light Side and a Dark Side and it binds the galaxy together.
Re: works in 2.0, goes nuts in 2.02
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2007, 12:59:34 PM »
That's crazy looks like it remembered all the drawings mirrors and rotates, anyway resaved it and used 0.05 connection tolerance and its now usable.

Wes
Have a nice Day

Offline cephjedi

•  8 8
  • I keep octopuses. I play guitar. I love inventing!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2007, 01:56:59 PM »