Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 01:45:36 AM

Author Topic: Mach4, Pokeys and Lexium  (Read 1146 times)

Mach4, Pokeys and Lexium
« on: November 09, 2018, 04:40:16 PM »
Greetings all...I am new to smaller machine tech and recently purchased a Pokeys 57CNC BOB for a small custom machine and I am having a heck of a time hooking it up to a trio of Lexium Ethernet drives. The drives are all configured in S/D mode but I get one little "clik" sound out of them on jog and not a bit beyond that. The drives have a million settings but I have a basic Step/Dir wiring config on pins 4,3 respectively and connected to pins 5,3 on the Pokeys respectively and I'm not doing anything to drive them via Ethernet it's just the config interface at this point. I have some experience programming these drives but none with Pokeyes and boy am I stuck in the mud. I thought it would be a simple thing and am sure it is but I'm not getting the message somehow. These obviously also take a reference but it's auto-sensing and the Pokeys looks to be wanting a sink/gnd so I have a connection to Pin 8 on the motor drive as my reference. Like I said before I get this little clik sound but no motion.
Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: November 09, 2018, 04:41:56 PM by jmm2020 »
Re: Mach4, Pokeys and Lexium
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2018, 05:16:11 PM »
Make sure that you do not have the step and the direction signal swapped with each other.

If they are, then a single direction change could sound like the single click you are hearing.

Steve Stallings
www.PMDX.com
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2018, 05:32:38 PM »
Steve,