Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 11:41:55 AM

Author Topic: Offset not working right, V2.02  (Read 11273 times)

Offset not working right, V2.02
« on: July 26, 2007, 02:41:27 PM »
Attached is a dxf file that Lazycam seems to be having trouble with.  Specifically when I highlight the outside chain and then try to create an outside offset, no offset is created.
Also, when I try to make an inside offset for the two holes at the bottom, it makes an outside offset.  If I make an inside offset, it makes an outside offset.

I have the 7/12/07 version
« Last Edit: July 26, 2007, 02:43:39 PM by split63 »
Re: Offset not working right, V2.02
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2007, 04:53:26 PM »
First I'm no expert as I've only been using LazyCam for a few days and am also having offset problems so I thought there might be an answer here. There isn't one (yet) BUT if you delete all the holes and then generate the GCODE it applies an offset (G41). I think that you need to create a new layer with the outline and then code that, then mark all the holes as drilled holes but I don't have time to try that tonight.
My problem is coding the collet spanner that Art uses as an example. I can get it to clean up nicely after setting the line tolerance but when I run the code it machines both the hole AND the outline as inside chains. The code uses G41 for both the hole and the outline, I think it should be G42 for the outline but as I said at the start I'm no expert.
If any of the experts are reading this can they also tell me how to turn off the blue background to the screen to make it black? Viewing the videos that Art posted I find the interface with the black background and buttons down the left MUCH easier to use, perhaps due to the fact that I'm slightly Blue/Green colour blind as are bout 5% of the male population I believe. The Black background eliminates the Blue /Green problem as I'm not trying to see Green on Blue which to my eyes is very indistinct. Thanks