Author Topic: Lathe 'Set X Offset'  (Read 466 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rhtuttle

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Lathe 'Set X Offset'
« on: January 27, 2018, 07:56:36 PM »
What offsets are being affected by 'Set X Offset' or 'Set Z Offset' buttons when using Mach4 lathe?  I only see the x and z dros being changed and nothing in the tool table or fixture table.

When reading about setting up the tool table some of the posts reference setting fixture offsets.  How do fixture offsets affect tool table settings?

TIA

RT

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,773
    • View Profile
Re: Lathe 'Set X Offset'
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2018, 08:32:30 PM »
Just to say "Thanks for posting this and your other related post RT".
I fiddled with this for quite a while and never ended up understanding it.
It does nearly nothing that I expect.  ::) But I've learned to expect that :)
This should be a good one, I'll be watching intently.

Thanks again.
Regards,
Russ
 :)

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,305
    • View Profile
Re: Lathe 'Set X Offset'
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2018, 08:57:01 PM »
Hmm.....
For every button, DRO, display, LED on a screen there should be a short / some kind of      description in the manual.
One should not need to guess at the function.

RICH


Offline rhtuttle

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: Lathe 'Set X Offset'
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2018, 10:24:14 AM »
FYI,  The Set X and Set Z offset buttons DO change the active tool offsets.  If you have the tool table open it will not show the change until you close it and reopen the tool table. 

RT