Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 06:29:53 AM

Author Topic: CAM ( or CAD/CAM) software for horizontal drilling in MACH3  (Read 5503 times)

CAM ( or CAD/CAM) software for horizontal drilling in MACH3
« on: December 06, 2017, 09:13:43 AM »
Hi to everyone,

I am new in Mach3 (or any other CNC software), and need help.

Friend of mine, recently bought used CNC woodworking machine centre IMA BIMA 100 ( 2x 7 vertical drill heads, 2 vertical cutting heads, and one 4x horizontal drill head for drilling in X+, X-, Y+ and Y- directions) with installed Mach3 on it. This CNC machine originally used some kind of obsolete Siemens software, and former owner decided to upgrade it to Mach3, but didn't finish this upgrade to the end, when friend of mine decided to bought it for a really good price. Some options on the machine are not yet integrated to Mach3, like a turning Vacuum pumps ON and OFF, rising delimiters, etc., and this functions are temporary redirected to the dip switches.

In that condition machine is usable, and we already use it for some basic operations for vertical drilling and liner & arc cutting of plywood and similar boarded materials for manufacturing a furniture.
Problem is driling a horizontal holes on the boards, what is a really necessary in this manufacturing. It is possible to manually create a g-code for this drilling by using a G18 and G19 codes for a XZ and YZ planes and a G81 drilling cycle, but for any little bit a complicated operation (linear and arc cutting, with a vertical and horizontal drilling on the same peace of board) this could be very frustrating.

I tried AlphaCam and some other softwares, but they can't do that with an existing post processors ( there is some Mach3 posts for them, but doesn't work with a horizontal drilling ), and generic Fanuc code is to different for this machining to manually edit it every time.