Author Topic: All settings gone awol  (Read 5925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
All settings gone awol
« on: June 27, 2007, 02:14:57 PM »
To my regret I've just installed Mach3VersionR2.00.065.

So has anyone else done this to find that just about every setting has gone.  >:( Motor tuning, ports n pins, homing and limits, spindle.  >:( >:( Everything. >:( >:( >:(

Please tell me that all my old settings are stored away somewhere nice for me.

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,462
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 02:31:09 PM »
Stirling,
    What version were you running before.

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2007, 03:06:54 PM »
Well hello there Brett - you trying to get back on my Christmas list then? ;D

R1.84.002

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,462
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2007, 03:09:25 PM »
Yeah.............. ::)
    Did you back up your XML or have you by chance posted it here, on the forum latley.

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2007, 03:20:09 PM »
no and no

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,462
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2007, 03:31:32 PM »
What profile were you using before? If you open up the mach loader, do you see your profile in there or was it a default Mach XML?

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline Chip

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,057
  • Gainesville Florida USA
    • View Profile
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2007, 04:31:33 PM »
Hi, Stirling

Check your C:\ folder for other Mach3 folders, Art sometimes uses a different Mach3 folder (Mach3184...) install path in the installer program.

If you didn't change it during your install of Mach3 then you may find your old Xml in Mach3 folder and your new Mach3 in Mach3184... folder.

Maybe this will help, Chip

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2007, 03:45:54 AM »
Hi Brett - All the settings were in a new profile I'd created (in order to keep the default just in case) and yes all the defaults have been written to it by the upgrade. I noticed when Mach3 was installing it said words to the effect of "loading custom profile". Of course what it didn't say was "and I'm going to trash it - ha ha".

Hi Chip - Nice thought but I just looked and sadly no. Again strange cos during install it asked for the program group and I gave it the name according to the new version so now you've mentioned it I'd have expected it to  install to a different dir. but no.

Looks like I'm back to "first base" as I believe you chaps say :) another day wasted  :( one day I might actually be able to get back to work and mince some freakin wood.

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2007, 08:55:35 AM »
Ok just a quick follow up. Rock n roll - I found a backup on the memory stick I use to transport gcode between my office and workshop machines. Seems that sometimes I do walk through the day awake... ::)

However, it seems that the latest version of Mach3 ignores limits override, both automatic and manual. Once it hits a limit there is no way to get it off again. So I've gone back to the previous version again and all is fine. Anyone else had this?

Offline bogger44

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: All settings gone awol
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2007, 01:06:47 AM »
I have also had prob.with installing a newer version of mach. I had v1.84 had bugs with my THC (i'm plasma) upgraded to 2.05 went ok.  I try to upgrade to 2.30, 2.65, it won't load all my g-code it gets to line 19 and says "radias at beggining of acr is differnt than radias at end of arc". I get a charge pump and motor movement manually.  Don't make sence I reinstall 2.05 and everything works.
  I install 2.80 and nothing works no charge pump no motor movement.