Author Topic: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin  (Read 3651 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dunnitagain

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« on: September 16, 2017, 03:02:37 PM »
  After Upgrading from Mach4 2480 to 3481 and Plugin 2.01.70 . Mach wont stay connected to the dspmc , Error says dspmc not found , then it will hook up for about 5 seconds and show it
in the History Line . It shuttles back and forth so fast you can see it read out.   Mach 2480 and old plugin were solid as a Rock!
I cant figure it out? Is it in Config or my Ethernet hardware?

Offline Vital System Support

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2017, 03:46:42 PM »
you only need update mach4 if required.  should not need newer plugin.  do you still have the old plugin?  If you upgrade the plugin, you must update the firmware as well which is a risky thing as it may brick the controller if not done properly.  the safest way to upgrade the firmware is to completely disconnect the controller from all plugs and leave only green power and Ethernet plugs connected.  when new firmware is flashed successfully, disconnect the green power plug and reconnect after few seconds and make sure the new version shows up in the vsiDeviceManager on network scan.

Offline dunnitagain

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2017, 08:39:00 PM »
  My plugin was 112515. Are you saying that I need to Update the firmware on my box ? Or do I need to revert my Pluggin ? What about the newer features of the newest Plugin?
       Thanks

Offline Vital System Support

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2017, 12:11:06 AM »
yes in order to use new features and bug fixes you will need to update the controller firmware.  follow the instructions I mentioned in the previous post as well as in the vsiDeviceManager documentation which describes the steps to flash a new firmware.

Offline dunnitagain

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2017, 01:43:42 PM »
 Reflashed the box to the new firmware version and it works great now!

Offline lcs226

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2017, 11:10:48 AM »
I just received an new box with firmware 10.10 FPGA E901. I change the IP address with the VSI device manager from the default .  Rescan the network and my controller is there at the new address. When I plug the controller into my network, it is assigned a DHCP address. I cannot find anything in the VSI documentation about DHCP disable.

Thanks

Offline Vital System Support

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2017, 12:24:47 PM »

currently there is no option to disable DHCP. 

in your dhcp server, have you tried define static address for the dspmc unit?



Offline lcs226

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2017, 12:41:07 PM »
My system will not stay connected. Brand new dspMC out of the box firmware 10.10 FPGA E901 boot loader 0.06 Hardware 7762, Mach 4 3481, plugin 2.01.72
Every time I enable my system, I get system arm error and it disables.

Offline Vital System Support

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2017, 12:54:44 PM »

have you connected earth ground and signal ground according to diagram

http://www.vitalsystem.com/portal/motion/AnalogDriveConnections.pdf


Offline lcs226

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Error after Update to Mach4 3481 and newest dspMC Plugin
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2017, 01:02:35 PM »
Yes, this unit is sitting on my bench for configuration for new machine. When I turn on the logging, I am see System Arm Error DSPMC:283.

If I disable all inputs and outputs in the machine configuration, system will stay enabled