Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 05:38:24 PM

Author Topic: 4th Axis Calibration in Mach3  (Read 2648 times)

4th Axis Calibration in Mach3
« on: June 26, 2017, 01:02:03 AM »
Hi guys,
Yes another newbie here.
I nned to know how to calibrate my 4th axis using the "A" axis. I can not find a useful how to video on youtube so i though i would try here. THe ONLY thing i know is that my Stepper motor is 1.8
Can anyone possibly help?
Re: 4th Axis Calibration in Mach3
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2017, 04:28:21 AM »
Hi,
calculating the  'steps per' confuses a lot of people but really isn't that difficult if you break it down to simple ideas.

For a linear axis 'steps per' means steps per unit, whatever you think your standard unit should be... for most its inches or mm,
however if you were making semiconductors um or u inch might be more useful.

Lets say your 'natural' units are inches. The question is 'how many step pulses does the controller have to produce to make my axis go 1 inch?'
If we had some sort of pulse counter we could jog our axis 1 inch and write the counted  number of pulses as 'steps per', easy.

Another idea is to have the controller produce a certain number of pulses, 10,000 say, and then measure how far the axis moved. If for instance
the axis moved 0.871 inch then the 'steps per' is 10,000/0.871=11481 steps per inch, easy. You might ask 'so how do I get Mach to produce exactly
10,000 pulses?' As it turns out that's easy. On the Config/Motor Tuning page for the axis your trying to calibrate, say X to start with, set the 'steps
per' at 10,000 and save. We are almost bound to be wrong with our guess but we can now make Mach issue 10,000 pulses.
On the MDI screen issue:
G0 X1  <enter>
Mach will issue 10,000 pulses to the X axis driver, measure how far the axis moved with a dial gauge or similar, do the calculation and 'Bobs your Auntie'.