Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:37:57 AM

Author Topic: Integers defined  (Read 3735 times)

Offline Bob49

•  57 57
    • View Profile
Integers defined
« on: June 06, 2017, 02:11:50 PM »
Hi all,

I've been messing about with my screen script for many months with some successes.  But some failures at the same time.  One of the things that stumps me a lot is in the CoreAPI, the descriptions of the parameters at times state an integer is required.  Take mcJogSetInc for example, the axisID is stated to be an integer.  But in th usage example given at the bottom of that particular page, it states "mInst, X_AXIS, .010".  Now just to make sure I was thinking correctly, I actually looked up the meaning of integer.  I found what I thought it to be, "a whole number; a number that is not a fraction".  

So just where are these integers explained in the CoreAPI?  I never have found any in the looking I've done.  I actually have this function working in my script, but it was mostly by trial and error trying to figure out what exactly I needed to have in that portion of the statement.  I ended up using the motor numbers and got things to working.  When I tried using X_AXIS there, I got an error stating basically a number was expected and it didn't get it.

Is there a listing of the integers used in these portions of the functions somewhere?  I hate for things to be a guessing game, but that so far has been the only way I've got much of this to work.  Another example would be the mcJogSetType, again it states in the LUA syntax for that function number, number, number for the three parameters and for axis it specifies an integer as it does for the type.  But in the usage at the bottom of the page is has no such thing and using that results in an error, again with it expecting a number in the second and third portions of the statement.