Author Topic: Z axis trouble  (Read 782 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TimT

  • Holding
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Z axis trouble
« on: May 02, 2017, 03:38:20 PM »
Dear Mach3 community:
I run a 4'x8' ezRouter Scorpion. Am a newer user (5 mos) cutting out primarily profiles of shapes and letters in plastic. My Z axis has been acting up for the past month, and I don't know where I went wrong. This week's issue is: each time I load a G-code and click START, the Z axis LIMIT SWITCH immediately TRIGGERS - I don't know how to overcome this.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,684
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Z axis trouble
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2017, 01:38:34 AM »
Is the Z axis moving to a position to trigger the limit switch ?
Do you have any other limit switches ?
Is the spindle motor being turned on when you hit start ?

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline TimT

  • Holding
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Z axis trouble
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2017, 01:55:01 PM »
Yes, on START, the tool travels upward to trigger the LIMIT SWITCH.
It looks like there are also limit switches for Y axis, but I don't believe that is triggering since the tool head isn't near them.
Yes, the spindle turns on when I hit START.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,684
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Z axis trouble
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2017, 01:09:33 AM »
As your Z axis is moving to the limit switch then I suspect there is something in your Gcode which commands that move.

A couple of suggestions...

Check your Gcode for an initial Z axis move.
Go into Config. Safe_Z Setup and if that function is enabled then reduce the setting.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.