Author Topic: Version 066 versus 062...  (Read 2586 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mikecole

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Version 066 versus 062...
« on: April 14, 2016, 01:00:07 AM »
Curious about a post I saw from Hood regarding bugs in build 066... I'm using that build and I have a two issues.

1.) Soft limits don't work! They don't work when jogging with my CS-Labs MPG pendant and they don't work on tool change! WTF???
2.) Safe Z ignores the fact I checked the "use machine coordinates" and only uses work coordinates!

Others?

Wondering if I should try 062... If I go back to 062 can I keep my settings (XML file)?

Mike

Online Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,636
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Version 066 versus 062...
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 03:13:13 AM »
Most use v.066 without issue but there have been many problems regarding this version posted here and on other forums. If Hood says use v.062 in preference then that is good enough for me and I think that is what you should do.
Yes, you can keep & transfer your existing settings (XML file) - although it is perhaps best to backup the whole Mach3 folder before installing v.062 over the top of the existing version (this way you have a copy of all settings, macro's etc.).

Tweakie.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2016, 03:15:20 AM by Tweakie.CNC »
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,773
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Version 066 versus 062...
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2016, 10:14:53 AM »
066 has serious issues, especially when using an external controller.
I have never used 066 with any machines that have the CSMIO on them but I did have it on two machines that had SmoothStepers (Ethernet and USB) and there were big problems with homing and toolchanging amongst other things.

Hood

Offline mikecole

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Version 066 versus 062...
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2016, 06:43:13 PM »
Thanks Hood, Tweak,

Both issues I was seeing have gone away with V.062. The safe Z settings are respected in machine coordinates. The soft limits work now and the behavior is different. Now when I enable servos I can't move any axis until I turn soft limits off which makes sense because the machine has no idea where it's at. This is also good since it serves as a reminder to reference the machine. After I reference the machine I can enable soft limits and they are respected! Thanks so much Hood! BTW, downgrade was easy as per advice from Tweak. Thanks!

Mike

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,126
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Version 066 versus 062...
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2016, 08:00:00 PM »
A LOT of people using my screenset run into auto zero issues when using .066 with motion controllers.
.062 seems to work fine for those that run into problems with .066
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline mikecole

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Version 066 versus 062...
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2016, 02:49:14 PM »
Thanks Ger21,

Your screenset looks cool. Would like to give it a try.... I have a 1920 display and the "factory" screenset looks crappy scaled to 1920. Intrigued by your tool length finder as well.... Anyone using something like this with CS-Labs on a knee mill? I can't rely on open circuit condition between tool and table like you can. I guess an insulator for the z finder plate would solve that...

Mike