Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 05:16:04 AM

Author Topic: Nothing seems to work!  (Read 8087 times)

Nothing seems to work!
« on: March 01, 2016, 07:05:53 AM »
Hi and thanks for having me!
I'm completely new to this lark so forgive me if my questions seem dumb
Trying to get a 3020 machine to work to carry out simple engraving but having NO joy at all. (machine control as pictured)
I've installed Mach3 on a Dell Dimension running XP and installed a parallel port add on card (drivers all installed correctlly).  I've looked in the bios and there is NO OPTION to change the setting of the port to EPP, it's recognized by the machine as "ECP"
I've looked at all of the Chinglish manuals and tutorials i can find for the pin settings and entered and saved each axis and also configured the Estop button as shown, stopped the Estop button flashing and ensured the jog button is green but despite the fact the digits on the display move using the arrow keys the machine head will not move.
I've been into device manager and enabled legacy support and this produces a "clunk" from the machine but nothing else.
Firstly - please tell me i am right in assuming this setup needs to be done after selecting the "Mach3mill" icon and not the other Mach3 icon?

I'm pulling my hair out here just trying to get the machine to do ANYTHING!

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Nothing seems to work!
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2016, 07:17:47 AM »
Firstly - please tell me i am right in assuming this setup needs to be done after selecting the "Mach3mill" icon and not the other Mach3 icon?

Quite right.

Check that you have the correct Port Address ( in your case DCB0 ) for Port#1 and that it is enabled.

Do your stepper motors 'lock-up' when everything is up and running or are they free to rotate by hand ??

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2016, 07:38:53 AM »
Hi Tweakie,