Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 02:35:04 PM

Author Topic: Adding Socket IO Capabilities to M Codes in Mach4  (Read 4948 times)

Adding Socket IO Capabilities to M Codes in Mach4
« on: February 22, 2016, 08:31:18 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I'm a grad student working on a 3D printing research project for my university.  The machine uses a 3D gantry controlled by GCode run from Mach4 in combination with a welder (for additive use) controlled by by a separate Python interface.  The problem I face is coming up with a way to communicate between the GCode, using M commands, and the Python script.  Ideally, we'd be able to call an M command, M23 for example, which would communicate with the welder script that the welder needs to be turned on.  The script would then be able to return a success value of some sort to indicate that the GCode should proceed. I decided that the use of sockets would allow two-way communication and be relatively hassle free.

However, I am not sure how to implement this in Mach4.  If this were normal Lua, I'd use the LuaSocket library, but I feel as though it won't be as simple as that.  I'm now thinking that developing my own plugin would be a better path for me.  Is this feasible to do within the bounds of a plugin? If so, how would I gain access to the SDK?  I assume I'd have to contact ArtSoft somehow and sign an NDA, but would this be through a help ticket or are there other means of contact?

I'd appreciate any advice or questions on the matter.

-Alex

Offline smurph

•  1,544 1,544
  • "That there... that's an RV."
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Socket IO Capabilities to M Codes in Mach4
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2016, 12:34:14 AM »
The LUA sockets module is in the Modules directory. 

Setting the package path and cpath is important.  This is an email example, but it is proof of concept for using the LUA sockets module.

Code: [Select]
-- Replace the from and to addresses, as well as the mail server IP address,
-- with something useful.