Author Topic: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board  (Read 6000 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mike^3

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Hello everyone!

I love this forum!

I am almost complete with my CHNC4 to mach 3 conversion, however I am having an issue, the spindle speed is not trying to correct to the commanded spindle speed position.

Here is a quick video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjkSUMz8I6o

Any help guys?

I have an Ethernet Smooth Stepper with a c23 board. I can change the spindle speed manual with the speed box, but it will not try to correct to the commanded speed.

THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH!

Offline robertspark

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2015, 11:14:38 AM »
does this help at all?

http://www.warp9td.com/index.php/faq/f-a-q-mach3#Spindle

(sorry not set up a spindle before)

... it is specifically for the ESS ... and there are settings on the SS config page too

Rob
Rob

Albert Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself.”

Offline mike^3

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2015, 11:16:54 AM »
Thank you for the link, I tried that and that but it still does not attempt to correct the speed for commanded... :|

Thanks tho! :)

Offline robertspark

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2015, 11:22:06 AM »
The last item ... Does this not provide a calibration for the DRO
Finally go to Mach3's Menu -> Config -> Spindle Pulleys

 Choose a pulley
Choose a min and max RPM so that the spindle feedback can calculate the correct RPM for display
Rob

Albert Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself.”

Offline mike^3

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2015, 11:25:47 AM »
I did choose a pulley = 1 and then i put 0 min speed and 6000 max speed, still doesnt work :(

Offline robertspark

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2015, 12:01:28 PM »
What happens if you change the ratio to 1.5?
Rob

Albert Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself.”

Offline mike^3

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2015, 12:02:38 PM »
it will adjust the read speed but it will still not fight to keep the spindle at commanded position, Im gonna try a tip from Tweakie.cnc then check back with ya :)

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,684
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2015, 12:13:46 PM »
Quote
Im gonna try a tip from Tweakie.cnc then check back with ya

 ;D

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline BR549

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 6,855
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2015, 07:43:25 PM »
HIYA Mikey , First closed loop NEVER work worth a hoot even with teh LPT and I dought it even works at all with a ESS. What you see is a linear config error. The voltage output is NOT linear with the RPM called. THAT is a function of teh ESS to control that probably a ESS setup problem with teh spindle control.

Normally MACh3 does NOT attempt to correct ANY spindle speed. You just have what the spindle is doing and that is it. IF it boggs down it just boggs down UNLESS your spindle speed controller itself can do Closed loop control and MOST don't unless it is a SERVO spindle.

IF you were useing an LPT I could show you how to correct the linearity problem BUT I don't know squat about the ESS's spindle output control.

BUT there is probably a manual out there somewhere that may have the answer ????

(;-) TP

(;-) TP

Offline mike^3

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle speed not correcting spindle speed with ESS and C23 board
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2015, 09:47:19 PM »
That's weird because the lathe we worked on tp did work, but didn't thread lol.