Author Topic: Issues with pausing and resuming  (Read 4799 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline striplar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Issues with pausing and resuming
« on: October 19, 2014, 10:42:57 AM »
I'm using Mach3 with an ESS and the Aqua Screen set. I'm finding there are serious issues with resuming after pausing.
I've seen this on several occasions now and it's quite alarming. After pausing and turning off the spindle using the screen button, I find that the feedrate resumes at a very much faster rate than when it stopped. Whether this is an issue resulting from me pausing when the feedrate is overridden or not I'm yet to discover. Needless to say, it's not very safe when you're already cutting with as high feeds and speeds as the machine can cope with.
I'm currently looking at the screen having resumed a cut, and the program window isn't updating to the current line, but that's a separate issue.
My guess is that the system uses the programmed feedrate on resuming, without taking into account any override.
Can anyone else verify this for me?

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2014, 11:58:22 AM »
My guess is that this would be an issue with the ESS plugin.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline striplar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2014, 01:13:51 PM »
My guess is that this would be an issue with the ESS plugin.

Ok, I'll play 'pass the parcel' and see if they say it's probably Mach3...

Offline striplar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2014, 10:10:21 AM »
Surprise surprise, Warp9 say that the ESS doesn't plan any moves except when jogging or homing. They suggest it may be an issue with the Aqua screen saver.

This is what I dislike about these systems where there are two parties that don't appear to talk to each other. Nobody wants to investigate it and see if the problem is in their back yard. It's much easier to say it's someone else's problem.

So, back to square one.... does anyone know where the problem lies?

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2014, 10:19:36 AM »
Screensets have absolutely zero effect on Mach3 functionality. This should be easy to confirm by using the default 1024 Screenset.

There is one possibility where the screenset may cause issues, which is if the graphics use too many system resources which slow down Mach3. But the screenset itself just tells Mach3 which buttons your pressing, nothing more.

Gerry
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline striplar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2014, 10:25:56 AM »
That's how I thought it worked, but this is the comment a moderator put on the Warp9 forum...

"I am always very suspicious of screen sets as most of them I have seen try to do very clever things that wind up causing problems."

The machine is tied up for some time so I can't try it out.

The key question is what decides what feedrate is used when the Run is pressed after Pause? Why would the feedrate change? I would have thought the queue would just be frozen and resumed so neither part of the system would need to change it.

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2014, 10:40:55 AM »
A screenset can't really do anything that effects Mach3. Some may include macros, but if the macros run on the parallel port, then they should run on a Smoothstepper. Imo, at least.

I can guess who that moderator is, lol.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2014, 10:44:46 AM »
Fwiw, the Aqua screenset is very basic, and does nothing.
My 2010 screenset includes some macros to automatically zero tools during tool changes. There are well over 1000 people using it, many with smoothsteppers, with no issues.


There really are no "clever things" that you can do that would cause problems. Screensets are just different graphics and controls in different locations. They have no control over mach3 functionality.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline striplar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2014, 10:59:37 AM »
Fwiw, the Aqua screenset is very basic, and does nothing.
My 2010 screenset includes some macros to automatically zero tools during tool changes. There are well over 1000 people using it, many with smoothsteppers, with no issues.


There really are no "clever things" that you can do that would cause problems. Screensets are just different graphics and controls in different locations. They have no control over mach3 functionality.


I think many people have issues but they just accept them or don't notice them. I'm sure my bug is a common one, but because it's not a show stopper, people don't bother reporting it. I suppose it's down to me as usual to prove to either Mach3 or Warp9 that it's their problem. I really shouldn't need to do this for bugs in basic functions that ought to have been resolved years ago. It's supposed to be a mature product.

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Issues with pausing and resuming
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2014, 11:18:47 AM »
If you're issue doesn't happen with the parallel port, than it's a Smoothstepper issue.
If it's a mach3 issue, then I doubt it'll get fixed. There's hasn't been a new release in years, and the latest versions have their own bugs.

Hopefully, someday Mach4 will eliminate all these issues with motion controllers. Then I'll finally buy one.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html