Hello Guest it is April 24, 2024, 12:21:00 AM

Author Topic: Help our Z axis has a mind of its own.....  (Read 9435 times)

Help our Z axis has a mind of its own.....
« on: March 28, 2007, 01:58:51 PM »
Hi, I am new to CNC, so please be gentle with me... ;)

We purchased a homemade cnc machine, including controller, motors, cnc machine, the works basically, and it works fine with Mach 3 and we are generally pleased with it....... We have since purchased 2 cnc Controller board kits (each has 3 x axis) together with the compatible stepper motors, to put to our own cnc  machines, and we are really tearing our hair out with the Mach 3 software (we are assuming it is the Mach 3 software as the manufacturer of the boards thinks that this can be the only reason for the problem)

The problem is, we have attached both kits, (at different times !) to 3 completely different pc's, each running Windows XP, and each running different versions of Mach 3 software, and every time, the Z axis motor is turning of its own accord and we are then unable to zero any co-ordinates.. We are not jogging the Z axis, we are not supplying any g-code for it, and we are not inserting the co-ordinates by hand for it, but every time we want to run the x or Y axis, the blooming z axis wants to do a jig also, first it runs all the way up to 45mm (if we let it), then turns back the other way, then it allows either our X or Y axis to operate as we intended, luckily at this stage we have not attached the motors to their intended lead screws/cnc machine...