Hello Guest it is October 18, 2019, 12:35:03 AM

Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 2950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Newbie
« on: May 01, 2014, 07:05:13 PM »
Evening people excuse me if I'm in the wrong place

First thing, is to introduce myself I'm shaun from plymouth ( hi )

Secondly, the cnc world is very new to me so please be gentle :)

Thirdly, GOOD GOD!!!!
Having a melt down to say the least..... Just bought a cheap cnc machine with out knowing anything about them.....it works :) well ish lol

Gone through the tutorial online, spindle is spinning away however I cannot get the axis's moving what so ever?? Where do I start please

Offline Tweakie.CNC

*
  • *
  •  7,951 7,951
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 06:26:14 AM »
Hi Shaun,

Assuming you are using the PC Parallel Port for machine communication and a 32bit Win OS...
Perhaps first check Mach3 Config / Ports & Pins / Motor Outputs to verify that you have the correct Pin# assignments for your axes. Also check Port Setup and Axis Selection that Port#1 is enabled and has the correct Port Address (the correct address can be obtained from Win Device Manager).

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.
Re: Newbie
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2014, 06:35:32 AM »
Thanks for reply, correct, using a PC with winxp
As far as I'm aware all configuration is basically set as
The tutorial states on the videos on this site??

Offline Tweakie.CNC

*
  • *
  •  7,951 7,951
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Newbie
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2014, 06:49:54 AM »
Hi Shaun,

Can you post the details of which CNC machine and controller that you have ?

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.
Re: Newbie
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2014, 06:50:58 AM »
Yeah sure soon as I'm home ill post detials
Re: Newbie
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2014, 07:36:09 PM »
Hi there it's a dongda ts series

Offline Tweakie.CNC

*
  • *
  •  7,951 7,951
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Newbie
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2014, 01:55:59 AM »
Hi Shaun,

With Mach3 running, when you switch on your CNC machine do the motors 'lock' (cannot be easily rotated by hand) ?

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.
Re: Newbie
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2014, 02:32:30 AM »
No the cannot be turnt

Offline Tweakie.CNC

*
  • *
  •  7,951 7,951
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Newbie
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2014, 03:39:24 AM »
A couple of suggestions…

Download and run Parmon to check the operation of your PC’s Parallel Port is OK. http://www.geekhideout.com/parmon.shtml

Check continuity of your supplied LPT parallel port cable and that Pin 1 connects to Pin 1, Pin 2 to Pin 2 and so on.

Check that the Emergency Stop button on your controller is not pressed in. (this may sound stupid but some have been there).

There are many problems associated with these Chinese imported machines mainly due to lack of quality control during manufacture. With the power disconnected take a look inside the control box for bad connections, burnt components, wires off, etc. – take your time and visually examine in detail.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.