Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 01:26:25 AM

Author Topic: VB Script for toolchanger  (Read 11505 times)

VB Script for toolchanger
« on: March 17, 2014, 02:06:38 PM »
Hello;

I'm setting up Mach3 to run a lathe with a 4 position toolpost on it.  I've generated a pass at the VB script with the help of a friend (I'm no programmer) and I wanted to see if someone could proof it and see if it would work.  I just downloaded & configured Mach3, so it would be used on the most current version.  Here are the specs on the toolchanger and what I am attempting to do.

-4 position changer, air actuated so it only spins in one direction (CW, in case it matters).  Added complexity is the changer can hold multiple tools on a single face.  The changer only moves 1 step at a time, and requries another input to progress another step - always in the same direction.  i.e. it has 4 faces, to get from face 2 back to face 1, it has to progress 3 steps.

It recieves a 24V momentary (pushbutton type) signal which tells it to start actuating, and it finishes 1 step with no other input, automatically seats.  It also has a 24V feedback signal that changes state between seated, or turning.  (I'm not sure of the exact state between the two, still have to check).  

What I thought to do with the code was build a table that would equate a tool to a face, numbering the tools around the holder sequentially 3 times (giving option for 3 tools on a face) and equating that tool number to a face 1 through 4.  This way the code could get the current tool and find out what face that equated too, get the requsted tool - what face that equated too, then run the loop to step the toolchanger around until the values were equal.

Here is the script:
Sub Main
              Dim currentLocation As Integer
              Dim targetLocation As Integer
              Dim currentToolID As Integer
              Dim targetToolID As Integer
              Dim tool (13) As Integer

tool (0) = 0
              tool (1) = 1