Hello Guest it is April 24, 2024, 01:29:24 PM

Author Topic: What wire goes where, and what's this for???? Pokeys56U v.s. PoStep 25-32  (Read 5050 times)

Hi guys(Girls?),

Recently bought a Pokeys 56U cards with 3 Postep 25-32 cards to convert my Proxxon MF70 mini mill to CNC, plan to use it with Mach3 (for now free version).

I am new to the world of CNC and after reading through many posts here and on CNCzone, I decided to go with the USOVO conversion kit (no do not want to use uni1500 card with printer cable) and use Pokeys(USB) to drive it.

Now the last couple of weeks I have been reading through all the documentation on Pokeys pulse engine and PoStep (multiple times actually), so I'm aware of what the documentation says, don't understand it all yet, but that will come.
I am not an electrician and have very basic knowledge of it all.
Read up on what a pull up resistor is for and what a safety charge pump is supposed tot do!

But...
I have a couple of questions I need answered, in order for me to hook up the PoStep boards to my Pokeys 56U card correctly.

1: In the PoStep manual the 10 pins on the postep board are explained. Correct me if I'm wrong pin 3 on the 10 pin connecctor of the postep board is connected to pin 38 (x-axis) on the Pokeys card.
    Pin 5 (PoStep) is connected to pin 46 (Pokeys) for the X-axis again.
    But were do I connect pin 1(PoStep) to????
    And where do I connect pin 7 (Postep) to?
    As for pins 2,4,6,8,10 (GND) do I need to connect these to the GND pins on the Pokeys 56U, and does it matter which one?

2. Wtih respect to the pull up resistor circuit (3.3V) for pins 48 and 49 (Pokeys 56U), do I need to connect these using a star topology (same as with the power from the PoPower 24-100) as well?

3. in the pokeys pulse engine documentation for the for the limit/home switches, I need to use a pull up circuit as well.