Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 04:11:38 PM

Author Topic: Control Mach3  (Read 4138 times)

Control Mach3
« on: May 04, 2013, 11:14:21 AM »
Hi, i am new in mach3... but i have experience in software for serial communication and microcontrollers programming, i was wondering if there is some possibility to control mach3 from outside software through serial port?

Example: Serial Com 2 <--> Com 3 (Com 2 and 3 are virtual serials linked )

I want to start milling after i type "Go" from one software (Not Mach3)... after typing  "Go"  from my X-program, i write something to serial port Com 2 (maybe some byte data), I want mach3 to recognise this data byte from the serial and start some G-code.... i hope i was clear :P ..

So, is it possible or not... maybe using the vb scripting or modbus i don't know... please help me here...

Thanks in advance

Offline stirling

•  2,188 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: Control Mach3
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2013, 12:04:11 PM »
Hi xhuxhi - welcome.

Many ways to do it - what you're wanting to do is really just a soft pendant. Modbus is a way (as you say via a virtual com port) - but there are other ways too. Up to you really.

Ian
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2013, 12:07:26 PM »
Hi.. thanks for the reply...i am very begginign and i don't know nothing... can you guide me just to create a very simple program in modbus...any way is ok for me... just i want to achieve the result..

Offline stirling

•  2,188 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2013, 01:47:51 PM »
<sigh>

from

i have experience in software for serial communication and microcontrollers programming, i was wondering if there is some possibility to control mach3 from outside software through serial port?

to

i am very begginign and i don't know nothing... can you guide me just to create a very simple program in modbus...any way is ok for me... just i want to achieve the result..

in just two posts.