Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 04:23:11 PM

Author Topic: All Dressed Up & No-Where To Go?  (Read 4278 times)

All Dressed Up & No-Where To Go?
« on: April 23, 2013, 03:40:28 PM »
Having resolved some initial issues with my mill ( the DC spindle motor &/or drive kicking out enough EM inteference to cause occasional stepper jitter ) I now find myself with a fully functional benchtop CNC mill - and no means to generate code to run it.
I wondered does anyone have any suggestions for affordable CAD/CAM solutions for use alongside MACH3 for a complete newb hobbyist?
Any input would be greatly appreciated,
Regards,
Nick

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: All Dressed Up & No-Where To Go?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2013, 02:50:34 AM »
Hi Nick,

Welcome to the forum.

The first software that I started out with was G-Simple http://www.gsimple.eu/ it's pretty basic but it's free and may give you an initial start.

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2013, 05:10:37 AM »
Thanks Tweakie,
That looks positive, I only need to make some fairly basic objects to begin with, I'll give it a go,

- Nick
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2013, 03:22:39 PM »
I'd like to thank Tweakie, plus all those who replied via PM for some brilliant assistance and advice, with no prior experience I needed to get up and running, with the assistance provided I narrowed down the options and bought Bob-Cad/Cam, the Video Professor DVDs which came (very quickly for USA to UK shipping!) with the software are proving a boon to a complete novice,
Regards & Thanks,
Nick
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2013, 12:35:12 PM »
Try inkscape with gcodetools added. both free.

Larry

Offline Fastest1

•  920 920
  • Houston, TX
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2013, 03:25:08 PM »
CamBam is easy to use and affordable also.
I want to die in my sleep like my grandfather, not like the passengers in the car! :-)
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2013, 08:18:36 PM »