Author Topic: All axis move in one direction  (Read 2758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ronar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
All axis move in one direction
« on: December 30, 2012, 03:23:19 PM »
 The axis (x,y,z) all move just in one direction! at the beginning the machine motors span OK, but  then stuck on one direction. I tried changing to parallel port (ECP), it did not work. I work with Sherline CNC, Mach3 program. Any other suggestion ????
« Last Edit: December 30, 2012, 03:24:57 PM by ronar »

Offline angel tech

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 499
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, 04:10:20 PM »
have you set it to sherline mode

Offline ronar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2012, 04:18:31 PM »
do you mean sherline half speed, in config->pin something ? if you mean that, then yes. If not, please explain.

Offline angel tech

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 499
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2012, 04:20:52 PM »
i've not used a sherline machine and yes that is what i was suggesting. That's all i could think of given the info you've supplied

Offline ronar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2012, 04:28:54 PM »
what other info will help?
I change my settings according to this http://www.bluumaxcnc.com/Mach3-Setup.html.
I just can't figure out what can make the machine start working on one direction, when at the first steps it was ok.
I put in the MDI window the command: g01 x-5 f50 (is there something wrong with that?)


Offline angel tech

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 499
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2012, 04:36:15 PM »
again i've no experience with the sherline, so it's hard to give specific advice regarding it. Check you have a good ground connection, and check that the direction pulse is correctly switching.

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,305
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2012, 04:40:20 PM »
ronar,
Post your xml file and someone will take a look and see how you have Mach configured.
RICH

Offline ronar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2012, 08:17:29 AM »
Here is my config.

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2012, 09:20:31 AM »
Dont see anything wrong in your motor setup page, assuming you have the correct pins assigned it should work fine.
If  you have a voltmeter you could check on the Dir pin of each axis direct on the port. Connect the voltmeter between pin 2 and 25 and jog X one way then the other and you should see the voltage go between 0v and 5v or vice versa. Do the same for pin 4 and jog Y and then pin 6 and Jog Z.
Hood

Offline ronar

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: All axis move in one direction
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2013, 01:08:27 PM »
I appreciate your suggestions. The problem was indeed the voltage. I changed the card (pic to parallel port) , and now it work :-)