Author Topic: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach  (Read 7086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2012, 02:47:42 AM »
The spindle should rotate at whatever the Spindle Speed DRO is at, in other words if you had previously called a spindle speed then it will likely be persistent.
Hood

Offline DeanoM

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2012, 03:48:04 AM »
Did the check on the voltage input to the dc03 and It asways reads 5volt

I even tried a known bob output (z axis output) to rule out a dodgey bob terminal

Even when adjusting to +\- button on the screen I only get 5v.

So it has to be some sort of setup issue in Mach 3 doesn't it?

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2012, 04:42:14 AM »
Sounds like it is, maybe try deleting the plugin and reinstalling it again. Also might be worth a mail to Greg to see if he can help.
Hood

Offline DeanoM

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2012, 07:23:56 AM »
Not sure how to delete the plugin but I did load Mach and ss plug in on Thursday last week to another pc to just run the mill and still didn't work.

Who is Greg?

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2012, 07:29:37 AM »
Greg is the guy that makes the SmoothStepper, email is here http://warp9td.com/
Hood

Offline DeanoM

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2012, 04:08:24 PM »
email sent.  hope i get this sorted.  it is bloody annoying.

Offline DeanoM

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #26 on: December 04, 2012, 08:06:49 AM »
all sorted. horay

ended up getting onto peter.
after discussing what we had found during the coarse of this thread the fix was quite easy.  basically the issue was caused by the logic of the bob.  i am no electronics guy but as i had positive logic (i think that is what peter called it) to was sending a 'flat out' signal to the bob all the time.

the dc03 status led should flash slowly when the spindle is running from a f5 start (start and run at min htz) and when it is commanded to increase the rpm the signal is sent to the dc03 and then the led will flash fast as it is recieving the pwm signal.  i was getting the fast flash from first power up of the dc03.

the unit works great and i am now so much happier about the whole set up.  i have put in to much time and money to have something this simple rain on my parade

thanks to all that helped me with this issue, i knew it would be such a simple fix.

maybe this simple fix will help someone else in the future.


Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, new guy struggling with DC-03 & mach
« Reply #27 on: December 04, 2012, 09:41:56 AM »
Good you got it :)
Hood