Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 07:34:55 AM

Author Topic: Laser build  (Read 10778 times)

Laser build
« on: September 03, 2012, 09:36:24 PM »
Hi, I'm a new poster and have a Tormach 1100 that I'm retrofitting to become a fiber laser cutter.  I make titanium rings for a living and was looking for a powerful cutting laser.  I found that I wasn't using my Tormach much, as I also have a full size machining center and CNC lathe.  The cost of a finished cutting laser was well past the mid 6 digits, so I decided to attempt it myself.  I bought the fiber laser engine, and I'll be mounting a large laser head to the Z axis and will be doing a full sheet metal enclosure to block stray infrared.

The main challenge as I see it will be to get the capacitive height sensing circuit in the laser head to work.  The Tormach uses steppers, and the height sensor will output a DC voltage corresponding to how far away from a grounded sheet, eg. 1v for 1mm away, 2V for 2mm away, etc.  It sounds to me that it might be a simple thing to get that to work with a servo, but not necessarily so with a stepper.  My question is would it be easier to have my Z axis convert from stepper that's spec'ed with the machine to servo and use the output of the sensor as the driver for Z?  I know nothing about what it would take to do that.  Maybe there's another clever way to do it that won't take much reworking or reconfiguring the machine.  I am new to the electrical workings of the machines, although I'm pretty good on the g-code end.  I can certainly use some insight on the best way to go on that.  I can get by with programming Z for flat stuff short term, but I also plan on using it for titanium rings on a rotary axis that change thickness as they go around.  Is there an add on product or macro that might accomplish this?