Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 12:29:51 PM

Author Topic: need help and advice on conversion project-motors/drives/mach3 tuning  (Read 2304 times)

I seem to be going around in circles.

I am working a converting a benchtop mill (PM 20) to cnc. MY neighbor friend and I are working on a kind of challenge. He is converting a Grizzly 704. They seem to be the same mill for the most part.

I am a hobbyist and don't know that much about electronics. I have Mach 3. I have used on another project... (I converted an old Dyna2400 to run from MACH3, but it does have much power).

So, I bought a new benchtop mill. added new ball screws.

I have C10 board, Keling drivers; x/y nema 23 5.6 v motors; z is nema 34 6.0 v motor.

First off; I went to Automation Technologies which had "kit" containing 2 nema 23 and 2 nema 34 motor with keling 5056d driver (x2), and keling 8070d (x1) driver; and 48 volt power supply.

I called to ask if the 48 v power supply was sufficient for the nema 34. The person I spoke with explained that it would be a little under power and I would loose a little torque on z. I said I would prefer to not be under powered and it was suggested that I get a 50 v power supply instead. so I did that.

Finally got things wired up. But then seemed to get over-voltage on the 5056d drivers. So I called Auto Tech and spoke with person again. The person I spoke with said that I could use the keling 8056d drives for x/y instead of 5056d drives.

Ok, I did that. I try this out tonite.

Seems to work ok for the most part, however, it seems like the motors are getting very hot. Do I still need to go to a lower voltage power supply? What causes motors to get hot? What causes drivers to get warms?

Also, I am not sure I am getting motor tuning right. I can not get z to move very fast and get "grinding" like sound when moving axis. I get good speed and "sound" ok on x/y when jogging test direction, but get "grinding" like sound with running a sample program.