Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 11:11:54 AM

Author Topic: New to all this!  (Read 11966 times)

New to all this!
« on: June 08, 2012, 08:28:49 PM »
Im new to all this stuff but it is really cool! I have a CNC 5 axes mill and mach 3, which Im just learning. I intend on taking CAD classes and learning cam soon. Anybody want to take a stab at some gcode for this sign I want to make? Material will be 6 inches high and 10 inches long mdf. I was thinking inside cuts on the letters and ducks and just outline the arkansas one time and then inside on the star. Is this possible or am I off on my drawing? I just was trying to get something to start on, any suggestions will be appreciated! I just dont know where to start so I thought here would be great. I tried someones DEER COASTER which turned out pretty cool! Only I did them with a 45* bit instead of 60 and that made them a little off. But I liked them. Also I liked the Walking trail Man that thing was smooth! Any help to this beginner would be musch apreciated! Maybe I can return the favors one day!
Re: New to all this!
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 09:35:53 PM »
LOL I forgot to attach files lol!  ::)   I also have leaf that may be easy let me know what you guys think.

« Last Edit: June 08, 2012, 09:38:07 PM by mcateercustom »
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2012, 09:36:53 PM »
I didnt realize how big the pics would be sorry.
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2012, 10:49:30 PM »
about 4" x 4" leaf
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2012, 08:57:15 AM »
Thanks; this turned out to be the first part on my new Stainless Steel tubing and Aluminum plate built base, using brushless DC Servo's  :)
stout, fast, accurate machine, loving it already
Dynomotion Kflop / Kanalog system +/- 10volt

Did change the feed rates to all 30 ipm (could have went much higher) took 22 minutes to complete
0,0,0 is the center of the block, top face
I used the back of another test block (Plyboo) testing the CO2 laser.
Linseed oil finish.