Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 03:42:39 AM

Author Topic: problem with z axis DRO  (Read 4147 times)

problem with z axis DRO
« on: May 28, 2012, 09:55:52 PM »
I am new to Mach, so this may just be me messing things up. I have been using Mach with Sheetcam to run a CNC plasma table. I have successfully cut this part about 30 times.
It is a part with 2 holes and that is it.  I am basically using the plasma to cut two holes then load a new part and start over. Once it finishes the part the DRO says .4991 as it parks and waits for the next " run" command. I load the next part hit run. Sometimes it cuts both holes, sometimes it cut the first then goes to the second hole does a touch off and raises the torch about 2" above the metal and fires in the air.

I don't know if I should be hitting "ref Z" before I run the next part?  After it finishes the code. the Z DRO reads +0.8237 . If I zero the DRO then close Mach and restart my computer. Once it reboots and I reopen mach, the Z DRO reads +0.8237. Shouldn't this read 0.0000 ?

Any help would be appreciated
Thanks, Travis

Offline BR549

•  6,965 6,965
    • View Profile
Re: problem with z axis DRO
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2012, 10:15:01 PM »
Can you post an example of the Gcode that you are using?

Do you have a floating head switch to set teh top of material?

(;-) TP
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2012, 10:22:12 PM »
yes, I will run to the shop and get a copy of the code. I do have a floating head switch.
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2012, 10:37:15 PM »
here is the tap file. Since I dont have internet in the shop and my house computer is a mac, I can't open and paste part of the code. I have attached the file.
Thank you for helping.
Travis

Offline BR549

•  6,965 6,965
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2012, 03:13:39 PM »
OK your G code is fine.  You should be able to repeat that code as many times as you need.