Hello Guest it is April 24, 2024, 11:44:50 PM

Author Topic: Robotic Loader/Unloader  (Read 7352 times)

Robotic Loader/Unloader
« on: January 08, 2007, 12:04:03 PM »
Hi All,

This is my first time here to post.  I've come in search of some assistance to my situation.   I'm not greatly experienced with cnc, however I have made a few machines from scratch and also converted a mini-mill.  They all work fine and I'm quite happy with them.    The situation I have is that now I have built a robotic arm ( I like it too!!)  I would be happier if I could use it to load and unload stock/parts from the mill. (while I'm in the Bahamas or where ever).   The robot, I figure would still run on a separate system; as it is a 6 axis arm, but I need to tell it when it is ok to load/unload.  This I could do with any aux out and mcode, but I would need to pause the gcode while it waits for the new stock, and then when the arm is done loading I need to have the gcode resume.     
How to a pause the gcode?
How do I resume gcode by an external pin input?

Thank you for any help,
Paul

Offline Chaoticone

•  5,624 5,624
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: Robotic Loader/Unloader
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 12:10:25 PM »
This may help. Program safety Lockout in general config. Wired to input one. With a momentary it will pause as long as it is made. Once released, Mach takes off again.
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2007, 12:22:37 PM »
Thanks Chaoticone,   I'll use the aux out to latch a relay, and pin out from arm to unlatch and this should work.  I don't currently have a copy of mach but hope to get one soon, it seems great.   Thanks again.

Offline Chaoticone

•  5,624 5,624
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2007, 12:36:36 PM »
Your welcome Paul.Yes, Mach is unreal good. ;D

Brett