Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 02:13:29 AM

Author Topic: Machine Limits without limit switches? to stop me crashing  (Read 4073 times)

Machine Limits without limit switches? to stop me crashing
« on: December 27, 2011, 04:28:50 PM »
Hi Guys
I am new to this, I have watched the video on homing and limits but its talking about the use of limit switches and i dont have limit switches, i am sorry if this question has been asked a thousand times, i have been searching for a while and playing round in Mach 3, i just want to understand how to set up limits without limit swithces so it doesnt crash into the ends?
Thanks
Chris

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Machine Limits without limit switches? to stop me crashing
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2011, 04:43:13 PM »
Jog each axis to its extent (X and Y fully negative, Z fully positive). Then press Ref All button. That should zero the machine coordinates. You can then go to Config menu and then Homing and limits and set up soft limits. The values you enter there will be 0 for X and Y min and Z Max and whatever your travel is for X, Y and Z, Z being a negative value. Then make sure Soft Limits are enabled on the main screen of Mach and you should not be able t jog to the end of the axis. You may have to adjust the Slow Zone distance if it does not slow down fast enough when jogging at full rapid.
Hood
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2011, 05:05:26 PM »
Thanks hood, I will go try it out  ;D

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2011, 12:50:38 PM »
To be fully candid, you can't really count on Mach's software based limits to keep you from hitting your physical end limits, there's just too many ways for those limits to get mis-set or ignored.

Its not that hard to put physical limit switches on your machine, take the time to do that, it will definetly pay in the long run.