Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 06:03:06 PM

Author Topic: How to halt a script halfway & wait for a user entered CR?  (Read 7114 times)

How to halt a script halfway & wait for a user entered CR?
« on: November 14, 2011, 06:41:17 PM »
I'm new to all this, presently trying to get my XY cordinates to move between the cutter & the webcam...my end goal is, press a contour shuttle pro button....my script kicks.....

1. Store the present XY coords
2. Goto a known webcam offset (ie locate the webcam immediately above where the tool just was)
3. Jog around a bit (to align webcam crosshair over a pcb index mark)
4. Once I'm happy with the alignment, I then hit carriage return on the PCB keyboard.
5. Use the offsets as per step 2 (but now in reverse) to put the tool where the webcam has just been
6. Restore the XY coords that were stored away in step 1.

The cutting is now exactly over the pcb index mark with the correct XY starting coords.

It the bits in steps 4 that I need a bit of coop ....what's the easiest way to get the VB script to wait until say a CR is pressed on the PC keyboard?

Offline ger21

•  6,295 6,295
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: How to halt a script halfway & wait for a user entered CR?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2011, 07:07:55 PM »
Seems like a lot of useless moving around, when the g-code will do it for yoy.

If you're g-code X and Y zero positions are where the crosshair is, all you need to do is this:

XOffset = 3.5   'X offset from webcam crosshair to spindle
YOffset = 4.0   'Y offset from webcam crosshair to spindle

SetOEMDRO(800,XOffset)
SetOEMDRO(801,YOffset)

This will set your tools 0,0 position where the webcam crosshair is. The g-code should move it into cutting position.

You don't need to wait for the CR. Just jog until the webcam is in position, run the macro, then run your g-code.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software