Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 01:06:31 PM

Author Topic: Shopbot with Mach3 homing issues  (Read 9569 times)

Offline Helicopterjohn

•  62 62
  • Seffner, Florida
    • View Profile
    • Helicopterjohn.com
Shopbot with Mach3 homing issues
« on: April 16, 2011, 05:51:48 AM »
Hi,

I have tried looking through the posts on Homing and haven't found anything so far that I believe relates to my problem.   I am new to Mach3 so it is probably something obvious to the expert user.

My first issue as it pertains to proximity switches and Emergency Stop button and getting them hooked up on my new to me shopbot PRT has been resolved.  I only have proximity switches hooked up on the X and Y Axis, none yet on the Z axis.  The proximity switches currently are the normally open type but will be converted to the normally closed in the near future.

I am able to run parts on the machine and also jog around the table and hit (the return to zero button) and the X Y & Z controls will home to that position i.e. G54 with ease and run smoothly without any growling.

My issue is when I push (the reference all home button) on the Program Run Screen the Y axis starts to move in the desired direction toward home but growls instead of moving smoothly.  When it gets to the Zero position and the X axis starts to move it throws the carriage off the X track.  I am slaving the A Axis to the X axis.  I have tried multiple configurations of the soft limits, reverse settings on the A axis etc. etc. but have not hit the right combination.  I have also checked the box in the general settings for home slaving with Master Axis in the general configurations dialog box.

Also, my router table has approximately 48" in the Y Axis, approximatley 96" in the X axis and approximately 6" in the Z axis.  As mentioned above I am slaving the A Axis to the X Axis.