Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 01:36:20 AM

Author Topic: Correcting Step error  (Read 2848 times)

Correcting Step error
« on: February 25, 2011, 07:49:06 PM »
I am a newbie to this stuff and have a Made in chin-o laser engraver (jinjan?). Most of the posts I see have to do with loosing steps. Yes I had this problem too as a result of the machine unable to reach top speed.

However the problem I have is GAINING steps or length. I cut a line 10" long and it come out 10.075 are there any adjustments I can do? I use newlydraw.
the machine is much better in one direction than the other If you consider the "scan direction" head moves back and forth as the x axis and the other the Y axis the error in the x direction is +.030 in 10" and + .075 in the y direction. it appears the gear/step ratio is off.

Suggestions? Some on also mentioned a different board that could be dropped in so I could use mach 3. What boards will work.

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Correcting Step error
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 08:49:00 PM »
problem I have is GAINING steps or length
In MAch3 you can do an axis calibration which you will find in the settings tab ( lower left hand corner of the screen)

Some one also mentioned a different board that could be dropped in so I could use mach 3
Mach3  provides step and direction signals via a PP or an external device like the SmoothStepper to your drives.

What controlling software are you using now? Are you using Mach?

RICH

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,194 9,194
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Correcting Step error
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 02:38:00 AM »
Autonow,

The machine you have was made for engraving rather than accurate machine work so it would not surprise me that you have some errors in dimension using Newlydraw.

There are a number of different options for using Mach3, calibrating your machine and then achieving accuracy but it does not come cheap.