Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 11:23:17 AM

Author Topic: I want to learn turning program. Please help  (Read 4218 times)

I want to learn turning program. Please help
« on: October 21, 2010, 07:55:22 PM »
Hi everybody. i am new to CNC programming and learning turning program. i went through canned cycle G77 / G78 but could not write program. there is no example in the mach3 manual. I need help how to initiate G77 and G78 for rough cut and finish cut to cut 20mm out of 25mm dia billet. thanks in advance

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: I want to learn turning program. Please help
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2010, 09:30:04 PM »
Instructor,
G77 & G78 canned cycles do not exist for Mach but may be applicable for a Fanuc or Siemens controller. ???
There are wizards, macros, LazyCam, and Lazyturn code output that you can have a look at for manual coding.

RICH

MODIFIED:  PLEASE READ MY ADDITIONAL REPLIES THAT FOLLOW ON G77/G78  :)
« Last Edit: October 21, 2010, 11:07:22 PM by RICH »

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2010, 11:04:24 PM »
Here is a link on  the use of a G77 / G78  in Mach.

http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,4297.msg30870.html#msg30870

Note also in the above link there is another Macro M1077 posted by Andy.
Read Andy's comment on putting the settings in Config> Ports & Pins>Turn Options of Mach3 Turn.

I remember trying out the M1077 and the M1078 a long time ago. They can be found Macro folder for the lathe.
Open them up with the V Script Editor to confirm which one is which ( M1077 is G77 and M1078 is G78 if i recall).

NOTE that some of the settings in Turn Options are relative to threading, thus be carefull, and see The Threading on The Lathe Manual
page 44 for an explaination. ;)

RICH
« Last Edit: October 21, 2010, 11:18:08 PM by RICH »

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2010, 11:28:24 PM »
While I'm at it..... :D