Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:11:24 AM

Author Topic: Mach3 in relation to alphaCam  (Read 7737 times)

Offline Kai

•  60 60
    • View Profile
Mach3 in relation to alphaCam
« on: October 03, 2010, 01:51:26 PM »
Well to stat with hello people.

I am really new to all this and have or will have 2 new bits of kit soon
both denford
a starmill and a starturn both converted to work with mach3 hence the posts on here.

Now the fun starts I am at college (mature student 37) doing a city and guilds in CNC operation.
I always wanted to learn cnc and love making little things here and there.

Enter mid life crisis or so says the wife and the news of being made redundent at christmas.
So time to get off my arse and do IT.

At the college they use alphaCam to run the machine we are learning on a Dugard Eagle 1000/Fanuc 0i_MB Controller.
With being really new I am not sure of the differance between the two, so is there anyone out there that could give me a few pointers please.
I am in the middle of reading the manual so please bear with me In alphacam we saved the Gcode to a file and sent it to the mill is this the same with mach3?

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 in relation to alphaCam
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2010, 02:02:40 PM »
Mach follows Fanuc way of doing things fairly closely so if your code is suitable for a Fanuc the chances are it will work fine with Mach.
Hood

Offline Kai

•  60 60
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2010, 02:20:17 PM »
thats great then I think if I understand you I can just port the code over to mach and it should work?

I am trying to find material to read to tell me what fanuc is I have heard it metioned but I don't know really what it is as I posted I am very new to all this
and the terms  and names for stuff is new to me.

In alphacam you can prove or test you code is this possible in mach as well so you can create you billet and see if the gode will do as planned?