Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 11:18:24 PM

Author Topic: Newbee needs help  (Read 10713 times)

Offline pfact

•  13 13
    • View Profile
Newbee needs help
« on: August 28, 2010, 09:13:50 PM »
HI guys,

I can't get Mach 3 to talk to my Zenbot CNC, I am hoping someone out there can help me out. Notably, I am not great with the PC (I am a MAc programmer).

I am using a 3 year old HP Pavilion with an AMD 32 bit processor running Vista. I installed a NetMos PCI parallel card and the most recent Vista driver for it. The best I have managed is an occasional click of the motors when I turn the computer on.

I have installed the memory override. The parallel card is set as port 1, I located the port address and entered that into the pins and ports panel in Mach 3. The only thing I am not certain about are the pin numbers. I also enabled the motor outputs.

One other thing, I have several times copied the license I got from Zenbot into the Mach 3 folder but the program doesn't switch from the demo version.

What am I doing wrong?

Phil

Offline Jeff_Birt

•  1,107 1,107
    • View Profile
    • Soigeneris
Re: Newbee needs help
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2010, 02:43:52 PM »
I installed a NetMos PCI parallel card and the most recent Vista driver for it.

This is the key sentence. If you had to install a driver than the card is emulating a printer port, it is not a 'real' hardware parallel port. In other words you can use it for a printer but you can't twiddle individual bits on it like Mach does. You can either find a PCI parallel port card that says 'no driver required' or go with something like a SmoothStepper: http://www.soigeneris.com/SmoothStepper-details.aspx (my website)
Happy machining , Jeff Birt

Offline pfact

•  13 13
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2010, 03:14:11 PM »
Thanks Jeff,

I just ordered a smooth stepper and LPH26 to DB25 cable adaptor.

Can you tell me what pin settings I should be using in the config for Mach 3?

Phil

Offline Jeff_Birt