Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 09:23:58 AM

Author Topic: camsoft conversion  (Read 10788 times)

camsoft conversion
« on: August 21, 2010, 05:42:37 PM »
Hi All, a little introduction.
my name is Steve and i'm a recovering camsoft user............

I've been using Mach3 on my Small mill for two years and its worked perfectly..........I dont know why i decided to use camsoft when i converted a bridgeport 412. needless to say it was
not a process id repeat.. it works ,  just not as smoothly as id like and theres too many "things i have to live with" with the code i developed.
  long story short i want to convert my machine to use the mach3 platform.
   i have the galil 1842, with a contec pio16 I\O board hooked to a opti relay board.
   i have just got the machine to communicate to the board and with smart term and mach3.
   i have so many questions, nut reading through the archives has been helpful.. to keep the threads on topic ill try to break them up and thanks for all your help...(in Advance))

can mach 3 use the external I\O board (contec PIO16/16T PCI) to expand the capabilities???

steve

Offline smurph

•  1,544 1,544
  • "That there... that's an RV."
    • View Profile
Re: camsoft conversion
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 01:27:42 AM »
Steve,

I don't think there is a plugin for that PIO board.  If you have an extra board, send it to me and I'll make a plugin for it.

Steve
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 12:02:24 PM »
I appreciate that....
   i would buy another card for you to play as i dont have any extras, but is there a card you may already have a plugin for.
if i have to buy a card i could buy one thats already online.

steve

Offline smurph

•  1,544 1,544
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 02:59:35 PM »
I wrote a plugin for the Elexol boards.  24 bits of I/O via USB.  http://www.elexol.com/IO_Modules/USB_IO_24.php

There is also the PoKeys plugin that Scott Shafer wrote.  Pretty neat little device there.