Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 04:05:18 AM

Author Topic: charge pump  (Read 6512 times)

charge pump
« on: May 05, 2010, 02:53:10 AM »
Hi there I'm new in this field. Can i use the 12.5 kHz signal as is or must I add any special circuit to drive the relais?
Spike

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: charge pump
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2010, 06:25:03 AM »
There are a lot of Breakout Boards that support the Charge Pump but if you dont have one then you can make a circuit up, there is info on the documentaion page of a chargepump circuit, see here http://www.machsupport.com/docs/ChargePumpSafety.pdf
Be aware though that the Charge Pump was not intended as a safety device when Mach is running, it was designed as a means of stopping the twitching of motors that can occur when Windows is booting and before Mach is running.

Hood
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2010, 09:28:23 AM »
Be aware though that the Charge Pump was not intended as a safety device when Mach is running, it was designed as a means of stopping the twitching of motors that can occur when Windows is booting and before Mach is running.

Hood

I have always thought it strange that the 12.5 khz signal was originally only intended to disable the drives when loading and shutting down windows, and not used it in the traditional sense to detect the program or PC processor not running or failure. period.
This has traditionally been done by inserting the output in the E-stop string, to me it makes more sense to make full use of it at all times.
Nosmo.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2010, 09:54:37 AM »

Hood

I have always thought it strange that the 12.5 khz signal was originally only intended to disable the drives when loading and shutting down windows, and not used it in the traditional sense to detect the program or PC processor not running or failure. period.