Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 11:20:12 AM

Author Topic: stepper drive cards.  (Read 4548 times)

stepper drive cards.
« on: March 28, 2010, 08:37:14 AM »
Just fitted some new stepper drives on the X Y Z axis of my Denford Triac. They are the ones with lots of switches to allow you to select the steps range. Problem is I dont know how to start, I understand the Mach 3 tutorial on setting the accuracy but not sure where to start with the switches. The ballscrew pitches are 5mm and the pulley drive to them has a 2.5 to 1 ratio connecting them to the D34 motors. I'm an old engineer who is used to a hand wheel with division on it. How do I start, sorry if I appear a bit thick but I have the steppers working although very slowly on the switch settings the stepper drives came set at. Does the steps range selected affect the speed or am I barking up the wrong tree. I did a quick measure and asked the machine to move 20mm in G00 it moved 25mm very slow. Jim

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: stepper drive cards.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 11:16:56 AM »
You really want to go for 8 or 10 microstepping, not sure what your drives will allow.
Ok so say you can change to 10 micro steps that would mean your steps per unit would be
10 x 200 = 2000 per motor rev
2,000 x 2.5 = 5000 per 5mm so steps per unit would be 1,000

Try an Vel of around 2,000mm/min  and an Accel of around 50mm/s/s and see how you go.

If you set to 8 microstepping then your steps per unit would be 800

Hood
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2010, 11:29:13 AM »